mike krzyzewski plaque

Mike Krzyzewski was selected for induction in the inaugural class of the ACC Hall of Fame with 86.4 percent of the media vote.


Michael William Krzyzewski

Duke, 1980-present


Iconoclastic coach who used man-to-man pressure defense and 3-pointers to become the winningest coach of all time (1,061 wins and counting), with five national titles (1991, 1992, 2001, 2010, 2015), 12 Final Fours, 23 Sweet 16 appearances and 32 NCAA tournament appearances. 13 ACC championships and the all-time leader in ACC wins. Five-time ACC Coach of the Year. Has led Team USA to five gold medals: three in the Olympics and two in the World Championships. 2011 Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year. Turned down offers to coach the Celtics, Trail Blazers, Lakers, Nets and Timberwolves in the NBA.


5 — National championships, second to only John Wooden, who won 10. Krzyzewski was the first coach to win back-to-back titles (1991-92) since Wooden in 1973.


March 10, 1984, Duke 77, UNC 75  A couple months after Krzyzewski said there was a “double standard” in the ACC — one for Dean Smith and North Carolina and one for everyone else — the Blue Devils upset the No. 1-ranked Tar Heels in the ACC tournament semifinals. It was a breakthrough win for Krzyzewski, who made his first NCAA tournament that season.

double standards

March 30, 1991, Duke 79, UNLV 77 Christian Laettner scored 28 points as the Blue Devils beat the undefeated and defending national champion Runnin’ Rebels in the national semifinals, avenging a 30-point loss to UNLV in the previous season’s national championship. Krzyzewski then beat Kansas to win his first national title.


March 28, 1992, Duke 104, Kentucky 103 (OT) | Christian Laettner played a perfect game — 10-for-10 from the field and 10-for-10 from the line — and hit one of the biggest shots of all time in what is often considered the greatest game of all time as the defending national champion Blue Devils beat the Wildcats in the East regional final. Duke repeated as national champions.

Laettner’s shot

Full game video


Jan. 27, 2001, Duke 98, Maryland 96 (OT) It is called the “Miracle Minute.” In an improbable comeback, the Blue Devils rallied from 10 points down with one minute left in regulation and beat the Terrapins in overtime at Cole Field House. Jason Williams scored eight points, including two 3-pointers, and Nate James hit two free throws in the final minute. Krzyzewski won his third national title that season.


“I really feel that whatever he chose to be — a politician or a minister or a businessperson or a philanthropist or whatever — that he’d be amazing. Good leaders accomplish great things. He’s this amazing leader who happens to coach basketball.” —  Duke forward Grant Hill (1990-94)


(Visited 92 times, 3 visits today)
Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon